Call us on 01688 400682

Ardwhin Cottage Reviews

24 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is in a great location for touring the island. The wood burners were excellent - easy to light and kept the whole cottage cosy. There were a couple of small issues though. When we arrived (and intermittently throughout our stay) there was a strong smell of cooked fish, possibly from the people who had stayed before. The extractor fan in the kitchen wasn't working so that was probably part of the issue. The ensuite shower room was tiny and the shower curtain was inadequate. Although the main bathroom was spacious and adequate. The mattress in the ensuite bedroom needs replaced, it has sagged in the middle and sloped off along the side edge. Definitely extremely uncomfortable and caused some back ache. Our group consisted of a couple and a family of three. Although the cottage sleeps six it only seats four in the sitting room. There is additional seating in the conservatory but this splits the group and is pretty chilly in October. Despite these issues we enjoyed our time on Mull and saw lots of wildlife.

    By Pamela Milroy stayed in October 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ardwhin is in a beautiful location overlooking Lochdon, so plenty to gaze out on from the conservatory. It was well furnished and comfortable for 4 people. We agree that seating would be tricky for more people than that. We loved our stay here and would happily come back.

    By Trish and Stephen Graham stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Comfy, cosy Cottage with lovely views from the conservatory. Comfortable beds. Great location with easy access to the road. We toured the whole Island over the week and went to Iona for a day, definitely worth the trip, what a stunning place. If you don't feel like cooking we would thoroughly recommend 'Lochbuie Larder' Flora makes the most delicious wild venison lasagne and sticky toffee pudding we've ever had - order in advance. We went with our teenage children and there was just enough room for us to all sit together comfortably in the evenings unless you don't mind splitting up and going into the conservatory. The main bathroom was a good size with a good shower but the ensuite was tiny so we all shared the shower in the main bathroom.

    By Mell Osbaldstone stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Warm, clean, well-equipped and comfortable in a lovely location with great views from the conservatory. Easy access to Craignure ferry and south and west of Mull for great wildlife watching. Has beds for 6 but comfy seating really for 4 adults.

    By Lesley Hawkins stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We felt this cottage was excellent.We stayed for a week in early June when we had 6 days rain out of 7. Thank goodness for the conservatory which gave us lovely views across the loch and protection from the rain without feeling shut in. Well equipped and comfortable .Convenient for the main road and a useful shop. Handy for touring the island.. Would certainly use this cottage again. Would not hesitate to come with our family as we felt there is plenty of room for 6.

    By Kayte Haynes stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was cosy, clean, and equipped with everything we needed. The location was lovely, and the view from the conservatory changed constantly as the tide went in and out.
    I would definitely recommend Ardwhin Cottage.

    By Sue Biddlecombe stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A comfortable, well equipped cottage in an outstanding (and convenient) location. We suspect better suited to 2 + 2 than 2 + 2 + 2.

    By Philip Vallance stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have stayed in this cottage on a number of occasions at different times of the year (usually out of season) The cottage is comfortable and well equipped we have not found any difficulty with the heating or the wood burners. Brilliant location, fabulous view from the conservatory and a haven for wild life. Would highly recommend the cottage.

    By Pat Buck stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Really excellent cottage. Truly stunning location. It's even better than the photos. I have travelled a lot and this is one of the best locations I have visited. If you are unsure if you want to stay on Mull or in this cottage my advice would be just go for it, you are unlikely to be disappointed.

    By David Champneys stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a great setting.
    No problem at all with fires or heating.
    Mull is lovely with everyone very friendly. Definitely recommended.

    By Alan and Bev Edwards stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage is in a lovely location and very handy for getting around Mull. It's well equipped and beautifully furnished. Although we didn't really have a problem with the woodburners the radiators only got warm once or twice so we had to rely a lot on the supplementary heating. The stairs are very steep in this cottage so I wouldn't recommend it for people with any mobility problems.

    By Lynne Pascoe stayed in March 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Ardwhin Cottage is wonderful.
    Very cosy, clean and in an exceptional location, coupled with a lovely landlady.
    Everything that is so wonderful about the Isle of Mull.

    By Frank Fricker stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage exceeded all expectations ,very comfortable and well equipped ,no problems at all with wood burner ,amazing views from conservatory and an absolute haven for wildlife .Would highly recommend this cottage .

    By lynda and Andy stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely little cottage in a fantastic location with stunning, ever changing views as the tide goes in and out. We had fabulous weather which was great but made the conservatory very limited, nice for late in the evenings.
    Watch out for low ceilings upstairs!
    Highly recommended, oh and you can hire a Kayak just a few doors always!

    By Gillian and Ian stayed in June 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We found the heating perfectly adequate,heated tank in no time,so hot in bedrooms needed windows open, no difficulty in lighting but we are ex Boy Scouts !!!, views amazing especially the snow capped mountains, plenty of wildlife from cottage : Eagles , harriers, osprey, owls mergansers, etc

    By Linda and Jim Platt stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star

    The heating in this property is inadequate for all but the summer months. It just does not work, the woodburners are difficult to light, keep going out and rarely get hot enough to heat the radiators. There is no heating at all in the bathroom.

    By JANET stayed in April 2016

    Editor's Note: Appreciate the feedback, however, as you can see from previous guest reviews, we would say lots of guests who have stayed at Ardwhin haven't found the heating to be a problem.
    * Additional electric heating now installed at Ardwhin

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house with all you need and more. Slow cooker a nice touch for those long days out. Great base to tour from. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks.

    By Rob and Janet stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have visited Mull every year for ten years but its the first time we've stayed on Lochdon. Although we didn'the see the wildlife we would like from the cottage other than the beautiful deer, the view was still lovely, and it was the perfect location for popping into Craignure for supplies and head out for wildlife watching. Mull is such a beautiful island, stunning scenery, and a wildlife lovers dream.

    By Naomi & Steve stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Exceptionally well equipped cottage in a fabulous setting on the shore of Loch Don. Extremely comfortable accommodation and lots of space for 5 adults plus 2 dogs during our stay. Ideally sited for travelling north and west on the island and very short journey to reach the hills in Glen More. Can't wait to return again.

    By Graeme & Pat Anderson stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely, cosy cottage with fabulous views over Loch Don. Wonderful to wake up each morning and spot a wide variety of seabirds and wildlife surrounding the cottage. Could quite happily have stayed there forever!

    By Pam & Craig Robinson stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very homely and comfortable. Loved having breakfast in the conservatory every morning and watching the wildlife right in front of us: Red Deer Stag, Golden Eagle, M & F Hen Harrier, Grey Seal 50m from front door. Hot tip: spread some bid seed on front wall and watch the birds. Would go back any time.

    By Rob & Jan Mellowship stayed in November 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a fantastic location.
    All modern facilities with log fire too.
    Ideal base for exploring this wonderful island.
    Would highly recommend this property for a stay on Mull.

    By Catherine Dalling stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Peaceful location. Lovely view of Loch and beautiful walks. Easy to find; close to ferry and Duart Castle. Very well equipped and comfortable modern dwelling - added bonus of a good selection of books, even cookbooks in the kitchen. Enjoyed the nearby Craignure Inn. Would go back again. Thank-you!

    By Samantha stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a great time at Ardwhin. Amazing view from the cottage and decent location to explore the rest of Mull. We were the first people to use the cottage, so there were a few moving-in glitches but they got sorted out straight away, so nothing but praise from us!

    By Alison stayed in May 2014

Add your review