Call us on 01688 400682

Ardnadrochet Cottage Reviews

23 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Friendly and helpful caretaker who met us on arrival. It was lovely to have freshly made scones. The house has wonderful views and plentiful wildlife on the doorstep. We had a herd of Highland cows outside the courtyard for several days and a regular buzzard. Also deer most evenings. This place is ideal for peace and quiet. The cottage is old fashioned with old carpets and traditional dark furniture in all the main rooms but it was warm and comfortable. The nearest shop for food supplies is in Craignure which is 15 minutes drive so it is helpful to bring some supplies. We enjoyed visits to the Treshnish islands to see the puffins and also to Iona. We would recommend Calgary Art in Nature and An Tobar arts centre in Tobermory.

    By Katrina Stewart stayed in August 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely old fashioned house with a stunning view. Very peaceful. On arrival we were welcomed by plate of home cooked scones. We saw deer at the back of the house. We enjoyed beautiful deserted beaches with grey sands and rock pools. The water was very clear we even went for a swim. We went on a boat trip to Fingal's cave and the Treshnish Isles. We got up close to lots of Puffins, razer bills and other birds. Tobermory is 45 minutes away; lovely shops, walks, a museum and very colourful. We saw plenty of Highland cattle. Visited the local castle. A week wasn't enough time to explore everything. WIFI was very good.

    By Rebecca stayed in July 2018

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely welcoming house in a beautiful and peaceful location with lovely views and only company from the cows and deer. The house is as described and has an old fashioned feel without feeling dated and tired. We had the pleasure of an amazingly warm two weeks which meant we saw not only the house but the whole island at its best. We saw lots of wildlife on the island but regularly saw buzzards and deer as well as an array of small birds from the garden. A day in was not a wasted day. We were greeted with home made cake and the caretakers were very helpful and informative about the area as well as the property. We self catered for most of the 2 weeks and the kitchen was adequate. The island left us wanting more and we will definitely return. Plenty to see and do with lochs, beaches and walks, key is to speak to everyone as they will provide not only local but up to date knowledge especially wildlife spottings. A most wonderful and relaxing time away from the hussle bussle of the world.

    By LEE AND KIRSTY stayed in June 2018

    • Star
    • Star

    Location is excellent.
    Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the house. We were there during a cold week in April, and it was hard to keep warm - storage radiators are not up to the job, and we found ourselves moving an electric fire from room to room. We had a fire most evenings (until the coal ran out), but had great difficulty in getting it going - suspect the chimney needs sweeping.
    Bathroom desperately needs refurbishing. The shower uses a mixer system, but the hot water pressure is too low for this to work properly.
    A couple of minor points: The hot tap in the main bedroom doesn't work. Nor does the top oven in the kitchen.
    N.B. Neither the owner nor the caretaker made contact with us during our stay.

    By Alan & Brenda stayed in April 2018

    Editor's Note: Sorry to hear of disappointment with the cottage. To reply to the comments, after checking with the owner, he confirmed the chimney has been swept in the past 12 months. There are instructions regarding the storage heaters in the property file and the caretakers did call by, but the guests were out at the time. The oven was new last year and there is no 'top oven' - it is a grill which is working. The mixer tap is just that - not a power shower, so yes, not particularly powerful.

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    my husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week on mull. ardnadrochet was in a perfect location. we felt at home as soon as we entered the cottage. its old fashioned furnishings gave it a lovely charm. it is well equipped and we found it cosy, even though we had some rain and wind, we never felt a need to light the fire. the local wildlife is abundant, we enjoyed walking round the estuary from grasspoint and saw golden and white tailed eagles, short eared owls and a group of three otters. its in a good position to explore the rest of the island, and would recommend staffa tours to the treshnish isles, sitting surrounded by puffins was pure magic. we also did a sea eagle trip which was thrilling. we were greeted on arrival with home made scones and jam, and the caretaker came shortly after we arrived to greet us. will certainly be going back!

    By christine and paul stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location is superb! Fantastic views from the garden. Gorgeous isolation, no houses around. Beautiful walks around, lots of deer every day. Can't fault the location at all. Everything is within reasonable driving distance. We managed to explore the whole island in a week more or less.
    The house lets it down but location is everything.
    The house has everything you need but it is very old, dated throughout. It needs a complete refurb top to bottom. Perhaps this could be reflected in the price. If you look for luxury this is NOT it.
    Isle of Mull is completely gorgeous and has everything you can wish for the wild soul.

    By The Clarkea stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage was in a fantastic location with plenty of wildlife around, it is also in a good position on the island. However, we found the cottage draughty and difficult to keep warm. The cottage had everything you would need for a stay, but fixtures and fittings are dated, the supply of fuel for the fire was welcome but only kept one room warm. We will return to Mull, and look forward to doing so

    By Fred & Vicky Pails stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    As others have said this is a lovely homely traditional holiday cottage. It is spacious and very clean and tidy and it is lovely to have the open fire and a fuel supply available to use. We had such a great holiday and the cottage is ideally located in the south of Mull. We will definitely be back to stay at this very welcoming house. Thank you

    By Will and Sarah Akast stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Agree with other reviews - the location of the cottage is perfect. It has a lovely garden in which to sit and watch the hen harrier and short-eared owl (just watch out for the midges). The house is clean but old fashioned. The beds are very comfortable. The bath could do with updating...
    Location is perfect - an easy drive from the ferry and handy for lots of Mull's attractions.
    It was good to have the fire in the lounge and the supply of wood, even in May! I can imagine the cottage being cold and hard to dry wet boots and coats in the winter.

    By Jane Hammett stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage in a great setting. A warm welcome from the caretakers and the owner. Comfortable living space, good heating, great fire and plentiful supply of fuel. Ideally located for visiting most of the attractions around the island.

    By Sue McLeod stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Everything was perfect till Wednesday, when the rally people came onto the island. We most certainly wouldn't choose that week again, and it would have been kind of you, considering the total peace and quiet we were expecting, to have warned us that this would spoil half our week. The drivers were arrogant, acting as if there was no-one else on the road, and glaring if we got in their way. And a mouse ate my shoes...

    By Irene Whittaker stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely, cosy cottage - spacious and charming. Logs for the fire and all home comforts with a rustic charm that soothes the soul. Wonderful welcome from the caretakers and an abundance of wildlife right on our doorstep. Buzzards galore and two pairs of hen harriers, deer for neighbours and the beautiful call of Curlew morning and night. Very tranquil and the best week of sleep we have had in a long time. Thanks so much isle of mull cottages for yet another memorable holiday!

    By Sonia and Matthew stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second visit here and we loved it,. Please don't make any major changes. As others have said, homely and in a fantastic location. I feel sure we will make the long trip back again.

    By Jerry and Christina stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It may be basic in furnishings and modern equipment but the view,location and wildlife make this a cottage to revisit time and again.

    By Graham and Barbara Baldry stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Isle of Mull is absolutely beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and have so many wonderful memories of our time there. The cottage is the perfect base to explore the island. The garden is amazing with breathtaking views. We really appreciated the log fire and homeliness of the cottage. Highly recommended. Without a doubt, we will book again.

    By Humphrey family stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wild, exposed, homely. We will be back. Fantastic.

    By Dr Alistair Sutcliffe. B.E.M. stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing as always - our 8th visit to this lovely, unspoilt cottage in an idyllic setting for scenery and wildlife. Golden eagles, sea eagles, hen harriers, short-eared owls, peregrine, sparrowhawk, ospreys, otters (and unfortunately mink), divers, and sometimes dolphins - and most of that within walking distance of the front door!
    As the other comments say, this isn't the place for you if you like ultra-modern furnishings and gadgets - but if you like traditional, comfortable farmhouse cottages with open fires and beaiutiful quiet walks from the door, you will love this (and there is very good television and wifi if you really want it)..

    By Anon, North Yorkshire stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    View from this cottage is stunning - particularly in the morning sun. There is a bench in the garden from which we saw white tailed eagles, hen harriers and deer. The cottage is comfortable and cosy with everything you need - although not the place if you want a modern new build look (which we didn't).
    It is a good location for day trips to all areas on the island and very handy for ferry from Craignure.

    By Kirsty, Dave, Jonny & Rick stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My husband and I have stayed twice and adore the cottage and location. Highly recommended!

    By Jennifer Kafanke stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you want all mod cons this isn't the place for you. If you want a good location with fantastic views and don't mind basic accommodation then this fits the bill

    By Eileen Magness stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved the position of the cottage and enjoyed a comfortable week long stay. Not the place for all your creature comforts, but we really enjoyed our week.

    By Steve Marsh stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Basic but clean accommodation. Furnishings are a bit old fashioned but location is wonderful.

    By Paul Hodgson stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage had a most attractive old-fashioned feel. Very comfortable and a wonderful location with spectacular views. Enjoyed the garden.

    By Fiona Porter stayed in May 2014

Add your review