Call us on 01688 400682

Ardnadrochet Cottage Reviews

19 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    my husband and I have just returned from a fantastic week on mull. ardnadrochet was in a perfect location. we felt at home as soon as we entered the cottage. its old fashioned furnishings gave it a lovely charm. it is well equipped and we found it cosy, even though we had some rain and wind, we never felt a need to light the fire. the local wildlife is abundant, we enjoyed walking round the estuary from grasspoint and saw golden and white tailed eagles, short eared owls and a group of three otters. its in a good position to explore the rest of the island, and would recommend staffa tours to the treshnish isles, sitting surrounded by puffins was pure magic. we also did a sea eagle trip which was thrilling. we were greeted on arrival with home made scones and jam, and the caretaker came shortly after we arrived to greet us. will certainly be going back!

    By christine and paul stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The location is superb! Fantastic views from the garden. Gorgeous isolation, no houses around. Beautiful walks around, lots of deer every day. Can't fault the location at all. Everything is within reasonable driving distance. We managed to explore the whole island in a week more or less.
    The house lets it down but location is everything.
    The house has everything you need but it is very old, dated throughout. It needs a complete refurb top to bottom. Perhaps this could be reflected in the price. If you look for luxury this is NOT it.
    Isle of Mull is completely gorgeous and has everything you can wish for the wild soul.

    By The Clarkea stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Cottage was in a fantastic location with plenty of wildlife around, it is also in a good position on the island. However, we found the cottage draughty and difficult to keep warm. The cottage had everything you would need for a stay, but fixtures and fittings are dated, the supply of fuel for the fire was welcome but only kept one room warm. We will return to Mull, and look forward to doing so

    By Fred & Vicky Pails stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    As others have said this is a lovely homely traditional holiday cottage. It is spacious and very clean and tidy and it is lovely to have the open fire and a fuel supply available to use. We had such a great holiday and the cottage is ideally located in the south of Mull. We will definitely be back to stay at this very welcoming house. Thank you

    By Will and Sarah Akast stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Agree with other reviews - the location of the cottage is perfect. It has a lovely garden in which to sit and watch the hen harrier and short-eared owl (just watch out for the midges). The house is clean but old fashioned. The beds are very comfortable. The bath could do with updating...
    Location is perfect - an easy drive from the ferry and handy for lots of Mull's attractions.
    It was good to have the fire in the lounge and the supply of wood, even in May! I can imagine the cottage being cold and hard to dry wet boots and coats in the winter.

    By Jane Hammett stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage in a great setting. A warm welcome from the caretakers and the owner. Comfortable living space, good heating, great fire and plentiful supply of fuel. Ideally located for visiting most of the attractions around the island.

    By Sue McLeod stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Everything was perfect till Wednesday, when the rally people came onto the island. We most certainly wouldn't choose that week again, and it would have been kind of you, considering the total peace and quiet we were expecting, to have warned us that this would spoil half our week. The drivers were arrogant, acting as if there was no-one else on the road, and glaring if we got in their way. And a mouse ate my shoes...

    By Irene Whittaker stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    What a lovely, cosy cottage - spacious and charming. Logs for the fire and all home comforts with a rustic charm that soothes the soul. Wonderful welcome from the caretakers and an abundance of wildlife right on our doorstep. Buzzards galore and two pairs of hen harriers, deer for neighbours and the beautiful call of Curlew morning and night. Very tranquil and the best week of sleep we have had in a long time. Thanks so much isle of mull cottages for yet another memorable holiday!

    By Sonia and Matthew stayed in September 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Our second visit here and we loved it,. Please don't make any major changes. As others have said, homely and in a fantastic location. I feel sure we will make the long trip back again.

    By Jerry and Christina stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It may be basic in furnishings and modern equipment but the view,location and wildlife make this a cottage to revisit time and again.

    By Graham and Barbara Baldry stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The Isle of Mull is absolutely beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and have so many wonderful memories of our time there. The cottage is the perfect base to explore the island. The garden is amazing with breathtaking views. We really appreciated the log fire and homeliness of the cottage. Highly recommended. Without a doubt, we will book again.

    By Humphrey family stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Wild, exposed, homely. We will be back. Fantastic.

    By Dr Alistair Sutcliffe. B.E.M. stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Amazing as always - our 8th visit to this lovely, unspoilt cottage in an idyllic setting for scenery and wildlife. Golden eagles, sea eagles, hen harriers, short-eared owls, peregrine, sparrowhawk, ospreys, otters (and unfortunately mink), divers, and sometimes dolphins - and most of that within walking distance of the front door!
    As the other comments say, this isn't the place for you if you like ultra-modern furnishings and gadgets - but if you like traditional, comfortable farmhouse cottages with open fires and beaiutiful quiet walks from the door, you will love this (and there is very good television and wifi if you really want it)..

    By Anon, North Yorkshire stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    View from this cottage is stunning - particularly in the morning sun. There is a bench in the garden from which we saw white tailed eagles, hen harriers and deer. The cottage is comfortable and cosy with everything you need - although not the place if you want a modern new build look (which we didn't).
    It is a good location for day trips to all areas on the island and very handy for ferry from Craignure.

    By Kirsty, Dave, Jonny & Rick stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    My husband and I have stayed twice and adore the cottage and location. Highly recommended!

    By Jennifer Kafanke stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    If you want all mod cons this isn't the place for you. If you want a good location with fantastic views and don't mind basic accommodation then this fits the bill

    By Eileen Magness stayed in September 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved the position of the cottage and enjoyed a comfortable week long stay. Not the place for all your creature comforts, but we really enjoyed our week.

    By Steve Marsh stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Basic but clean accommodation. Furnishings are a bit old fashioned but location is wonderful.

    By Paul Hodgson stayed in June 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage had a most attractive old-fashioned feel. Very comfortable and a wonderful location with spectacular views. Enjoyed the garden.

    By Fiona Porter stayed in May 2014

Add your review