Call us on 01688 400682

Ardchrishnish Reviews

13 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This is a very comfortable and well-equipped house in a beautiful setting, There is plenty of space to dry clothes (not that we needed it, as the weather was kind to us, despite the forecasts) and we appreciated the large fridge in the kitchen, as well as the full-size fridge-freezer in the utility room. The flag-stone flooring and enclosed garden make it practical for bringing dogs. The beds are comfortable and the showers are decent. We enjoyed sitting around the large dining table and chilling out in the lounge, while watching hen harriers hunt, the friendly cows mooching about and the occasional deer passing by outside the garden. If you want a really high-spec cottage, with all the latest furnishings and equipment, then this is maybe not for you, but if you are looking for a home from home, where you can simply relax and enjoy the beautiful views, then this is perfect. We would come again.

    By Ruth Richardson stayed in August 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have just had our 3rd holiday at Ardcrishnish with our grown up children, daughters-in-law and 3 small grandchildren. It is a beautiful house with a homely atmosphere and excellent for large families.
    The kitchen is well equipped with lots of storage space and 2 large fridges, though I must admit I still have to have help working the oven.
    There is loads of hanging space for coats and the flag stone hall floor means you can come straight in in wellies and boots.
    Two bathrooms and 3 loos are a great help though the sceptic tank system must be respected.
    The drying area in the utility room also makes life much easier.
    We find the furnishings very comfortable and the fact that they are not too precious means you can relax when little children are around.
    There is plenty of space outside, grass and drive, for the children to play in safety and ride their bikes, where the grown ups can relax and the views are spectacular.
    The Ross of Mull seems to escape some of the rain that descends on the more mountainous areas of Mull and we have been lucky to have had lots of sunny days on every visit. The sandy beaches in the area are stunning.
    We hope to go back for a fourth visit.
    The Brown Family

    By ElizabethBrown stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Superb house for families. Great location. Very well equipped. Would certainly re book for another holiday on Mull.

    By Sue stayed in July 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We loved everything about our stay in this wonderful house. The location is great and we loved our tripsup to the trig point to watch the sunsets. The house is extremely comfortable and very well equipped and we all appreciated the powerful showers and books on offer. We hope to return, hopefully for longer and as frequent visitors to Mull, this is the property that will be our first choice for future visits.

    By Jean, Martin, Abbie, Naomi, Yannick, and Ben stayed in June 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great location and we were lucky with 7 dry days. Great base for exploring Ross of Mull and the islands. Lovely beaches nearby on south side. Good food at Argyll Arms Bunessan.
    But property is in desperate need of refurbishment and updating. It lets down the let and could be a fantastic 5* property with some investment. Plumbing struggled, very noisy floors, could do with rugs upstairs. Cooker knobs and dials so difficult to read.
    On balance we enjoyed and were lucky but not sure how we would have coped cooped up in house for 7 days if the weather had been more inclement.
    One highlight was the Golden Eagle seen in the grounds only 50 metres from the house

    By Nick and Cathy stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    5 adults and 2 children
    We had an excellent week in this wonderful large house. We were lucky with a week of sunshine and made the most of the garden for sitting in the sun; the island for exploring, walking and climbing; and the beaches for the sand and sea.
    The house itself was very well equipped (especially the kitchen - great for dedicated cooks) with comfortable beds, a large sitting room and good bathrooms with powerful showers and ample hot water.
    The location is isolated - with the well stocked village shop in Bunessan the nearest food shopping - but the views were constantly amazing and we loved calling it "home" - even if only for a week...
    We're planning to return!

    By Halsall & Peart Families stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great big family home would definitely recommend to others

    By McClure stayed in March 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We were 4 adults and 5 children/teenagers.
    We had a fabulous week at Ardchrishnish.
    From the moment we entered the fenced garden (large enough for games of football!), everything about the cottage met or exceeded our expectations.
    It was clean and comfortable with ample seating, bedding and an incredibly well-stocked kitchen. The showers hot and powerful.
    Our dog loved the fact that it was "bunny central" in the garden in the mornings but he never caught any. He wasn't so sure of the neighbouring cows although we thought they were beautiful as they gazed over the fence at us.
    We loved the situation of the cottage and the ever changing sky and views.
    All in all, we had a wonderful week and would love to return.

    By S arthurson stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    6 adults and 3 children, we had an excellent family holiday.
    There was loads of space for doing one's own thing and the hall with plentiful hooks was excellent for outdoor gear.
    All the equipment worked and there was no shortage of crockery, cutlery and general kitchen utensils.
    The house felt like a lovely family home. Everything was beautifully clean on our arrival. We liked the lived in feel. With 3 children we couldn't have relaxed had the furnishings been too high-spec! That's not to say it wasn't very comfortable and cosy
    there seems to be a great curtain debate going on in the visitors book. I can see that curtains would be cosy when the days are not so long but it made the rooms much lighter not having them. There are curtains upstairs were you really want them.
    Outside parking was good and the fenced garden ideal for the children and great for grownups to relax in and enjoy the spectacular views.
    We would certainly all like to go again, please.
    PS Access to a few basic tools would be handy e g screw driver, pliers etc. for emergency repairs

    By Liz Brown stayed in July 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Spectacular location, this house is all about location. Lovely welcome by the caretaker (who sell excellent cakes ) and well equipped property/kitchen. Charmingly decorated with bare floorboards and rugs- fantastic views across Loch from the windows- perfect get away for those that like peace, solitude and spectacular skies.

    By Sara Holmes stayed in August 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings

    By eleanor cairns stayed in July 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely house, beautiful isolated setting. Very well equipped with plenty of room for everyone. Have booked to go again this year - need. I say more

    By Karen stayed in May 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Great, remote, warm and well-equipped house with character. The kids loved the freedom. Close by for trips to Iona. A lovely break was had by all.

    By claire stayed in March 2014

Add your review