Call us on 01688 400682

Achadaphail Reviews

23 Reviews
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    The cottage was warm and comfortable with everything as described. The location is ideal for exploring Iona, Erraid, Burg and the beaches on the south of the Ross of Mull. Also great for Loch Na Keal. Try the Blackbird Bistro in Bunessen and the Keel Row in Fhionnophort.

    By Suzanne Piekarski stayed in September 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a great stay in glorious sunshine, we even got sunburnt when we visited Iona. It was great having a garden to sit in during the evenings. The position is great for exploring the Ross of Mull & Iona. We went to Iona twice & eventually caught up with the elusive Corncrake! The cottage is well equipped.

    By Jan & Melv stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very comfortable, private, huge fenced garden with lawn so grand for kids, I imagine. Well equipped. Ever changing vew across to Staffa and Treshnish islands from living room window and dining area. Seals in bays around the place (maybe otters but we didn't see them there). Try local foods - Ardalanish weavers has its own (frozen) meat and ready meals; Crofters' Kitchen in Kintra has veg, lovely salad, bread etc in a pretty location. Spar in Bunessan gets papers and bread etc at midday (we do not recommend the one in Craignure - unfriendly, didn't accept newspaper subscription vouchers).

    By Geraldine and Peter stayed in May 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Had a wonderful stay, very well appointed cottage every thing you need for a great holiday, wish I'd booked 2 weeks not just 1! So much to see and do apart from enjoying the amazing scenery, views and the wildlife. The dos and donts of driving on mull are very helpful- they do things a little differently on mull but it all makes perfect sense when you know the rules. Weather was wonderful, we only had one day when we experienced all weathers in one day but even that was amazing, the sky at night with no light pollution is fantastic - would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to get away from the rat-race to a magical place of peace and birdsong- we're getting a puppy next week so won't be able to re visit worst luck - it'll be hard to find another place as good as this.

    By Jackie and Kevin stayed in April 2017

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Lovely cottage in a lovely spot. Cozy and warm for those November nights in and well equipped Kitchen. Great for exploring the Ross of Mull and of course that must have trip to Iona. Enjoyed our stay...... as always on this beautiful island. Thank You.

    By Sharon & John stayed in November 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This was our first trip to the Isle of Mull, the wildlife, scenery and tranquility was excellent. The cottage was homely, well equipped and in an amazing location, it was so peaceful and we hope to stay again.

    By Rebecca and Daniel stayed in October 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We have had a lovely stay at Achadaphail. On arrival the cottage was spotlessly clean. The position and sea views are beautiful and the sunsets are amazing. We had good communication with the owner, but sadly even he couldn't organise two weeks of sunshine! Our highlights were - trips to Iona, seal counting in the bay up the road from the cottage, visiting the local beaches and driving along the scenic route to Salen.

    By Howard and Jackie Moore stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Justhe had week in the cottage with my 15 year old son, the WiFi copen with his demands!
    It's a really comfortable cottage in a spectacular location, amazing sunsets, seal and otters 3 mins walk away.
    Highlights were a trip to Staffa we were escorted by bottle nosed dolphins showing off, Iona, the most amazing white beaches. Lochbuie and Laggan Sands, deer everywhere. Scenic drivery to Salen birds of prey galore!
    We took our bikes and cycled to pristine secluded whitems beaches nearest one took aboutility 30 minutes.
    Highly recommended this let for comfort ando location, I will definitely be back!

    By Jo Clarke stayed in August 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A lovely cottage in a beautiful location.Well equipped.Sea views and amazing sunsets from the cottage.Plenty of wildlife seen around the cottage and nearby including Golden eagles,white tailed eagles,otters,great northern divers,short eared owls and hen harriers.

    By Geraldine and Craig stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    This cottage was delightful and well equiped. The surrounding area lovely and the walks along the lane spotting wildlife a delight. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in this lovely cottage.

    By Kate Major stayed in May 2016

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Well-equipped comfortable cottage in a remote location, ideal for wildlife photography. Our third visit to Mull and this is our favourite area.

    By Sandy and Ken stayed in September 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    A wonderfully peaceful, cosy and well-equipped cottage. We had lovely sunny weather and enjoyed the easily accessible beaches and boat trips.

    By M Cowan stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Absolutely lovely cottage with a very good 'feel' to it. Perfect base for exploring glorious beaches, beautiful Iona, boat trip to Staffa, sights of rabbits, birds galore (including sea eagles and hen harrier) and 30+ seals lounging on the rocks just around the corner from the property! Beautiful walks and stunning sunsets and only two days of rain in two weeks!
    We are seriously considering a holiday in this cottage again.

    By Charlotte + Neil stayed in August 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Pleasant base for exploring the Ross of Mull and Iona. Well-equipped cottage in attractive setting, with helpful owner

    By Jane stayed in June 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Sightings of otter in the bay beyond the cottage, and the delightful company of thrush, blackbird, wren, robin and many other birds in the generous garden, adds to this cottage's wonderful location and generous comforts. the owner was kind enough to contact us about the cottage phone, even though we had not realised its absence! definitely recommend the excellent cooking at the Community cafe in nearby Bunessan.

    By Ruth McCabe stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We had a very good holiday and enjoyed staying at the cottage very much. It is peaceful, warm with a good standard of equipment. Plenty of wildlife around including deer.
    The cottage is in a great location for the Ross of Mull and Iona.

    By Dudley and Hilary Clark stayed in May 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    As soon as we stepped out of the car we could hear nothing except the birds. The cottage was in a wonderful location, clean and cosy. We had glorious weather but the view would have been as good at any time. The night sky was stunning.
    A great place to stay for fresh air, peace and spectacular scenery. A old lady in Bunessan told me we all need quiet spaces in our lives, this offered just that.

    By Jan James stayed in April 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    We arrived in the dark and were delighted to see the views when we woke in the morning! The house was a good size for our family of four, very clean, very warm and plenty of hot water! The location was superb. We had a great week relaxing and enjoying the peace and quiet.

    By Jane Cox stayed in March 2015

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    It exceeded all the families' expectations. It was very tranquil and peaceful. We were able to get around the island very easily from the location. The gadren was a great space to relax in and the children to to run about and enjoy. I will not forget the first morning waking up and looking outside at the sea on the doorstep, stunning!

    By B McQuillan stayed in October 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Fantastic cottage, very well provisioned. Loved the garden and location. October weather was wild but we we still cosy with the stove running, watching the waterfall in the distance become a water up. Definitely be back!

    By Tom Edwards stayed in October 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Perfect for those really looking forward to getting away from everything. Beautiful island. Lovely beds and homely feel. Wood burner a big hit with the family. Very close to the secluded sandy beaches that we got all to ourselves in August!!

    By The Murphys stayed in August 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Brilliant !All we needed for a holiday away from it all . Even enjoyed the early morning call by the male chaffinch , worked quite hard between two bedrooms ! What about those sunsets
    over The Dutchmans Hat ?

    By David Cotton stayed in May 2014

    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star
    • Star

    Very clean and comfortable. Everything we needed and in a great location. We hope to come again.

    By Geoffrey Lewis stayed in April 2014

Add your review